Writing Prompt #84

“Describe (in a creative way) how you feel when you have a head cold.”

When I do have a head cold (or a sinus infection, which is even worse!), I don’t feel very creative! My face feels so much pressure that it feels like it will explode. My ears drain, so it sounds as though I’m underwater, since I can’t hear clearly. My throat becomes sore and irritated from all the drainage, so it becomes even more difficult to breathe, and I lose all enjoyment of eating food. Everything is flavourless and most difficult to swallow. My head hurts whenever I encounter bright light, and even if I am so sick that I take off work, I can’t enjoy the time off at all, due to all the symptoms. Plain and simple: colds are no fun!

Leave a comment

