Writing Prompt #74

“How do you strive to be similar to, or different from, your parents?”

Since I was adopted, I have both my parents and my biological parents to think of for this question. I think all of my parents have qualities I can strive to have in my life.

I try to have my mom’s discernment and thoughtfulness, my dad’s work ethic and humor, my birthmom’s knack for finding joy in the little things in life and her cleanliness, and my birthdad’s easy going personality and creativity. 

I think there are many qualities in all of my parents that are worthy of admiration. At the same time, I have my very own unique personality and talents that are somewhat different from every one of them. And that’s good too.

Leave a comment

