Writing Prompt #17

“What area of your life do you tend to enjoy in excess instead of moderation?”

This is a very interesting question, since I have spent a couple years learning this lesson and working towards balancing my time and making sure I get enough rest time. I used to spend an excessive amount of time just being present for my friends constantly, whenever they needed to talk about anything, no matter what time they wanted me. I gave and gave of my time and my heart, loving on them and thinking that, in order to be a good friend, I had to make myself available for others 24/7, 365.

This is simply not true – being s good friend does not mean completely neglecting time for yourself that you really need in order to “recharge your batteries.” In fact, taking some alone time helps you to have the strength and energy to pour into the lives of others.

In response to the question, I will say that when this aspect of your life is excessive, it’s actually not enjoyable. Giving to others is great, but letting them take advantage of you, even if they don’t know that they’re doing so, is not. It’s been quite a journey for me, and my physical health even suffered considerably more than usual before I began to reaccess my usage of time.

Now that I have more moderation/balance in the time I spend focusing directly on other people, the better my health and friendships have become.

Leave a comment

