Writing Prompt #9

“Name one thing you have lied to yourself about. Why did you do this?”

Unfortunately the lies I tell myself are subtle and are lies which our culture promotes. It’s actually pretty easy to lie to yourself while believing that you shouldn’t take those lies to heart. 

As a human, I find it hard sometimes to believe the truth over the invasive lies. For me, the lies I tell myself are one that are not at all uncommon for other people to tell themselves also. 

I tend to believe the lie that I’m not near as good at doing various things in life as other people. I know I shouldn’t compare myself to others, but let’s face it – there’s always someone you meet or whose work you see who’s more creative, more organized, more put-together in appearance, etc. 

The problem with the lie that you’re not as good as someone else is that, just like there’s always someone better than you at some aspect of life, you’re also always somehow gifted in a way that others are not. In fact, there’s probably someone out there who compares them self to you and feels inferior. 

Rather than believing the lies that creep up that I’m not good enough at anything, I must continually work to sharpen the skills I do have, and spend more time thinking about what I can do than focusing on feeling down because someone else happened to do some things better than I do. I have value to God and to my family and close friends, and I don’t need to impress anyone in order to be successful in my life.

Leave a comment

