Writing Prompt #2

“Have you ever spoken up when you saw something going on that was wrong? Were you scared? What ended up happening?”

Most of what I notice directly that’s wrong is actually what is being said, rather than being done. When someone says something that directly contradicts God’s Word, I will speak up. I don’t want others to hear a misinterpretation or misquote of the Bible and go away thinking that is the truth, since it could make a difference in their entire understanding of the Gospel. Some people honestly don’t know something is erroneous theology or a quote that’s not even from the Bible (example: “God helps those who help themselves” is NOT a verse from the Bible), so when I am able to politely point out what’s actually true, they receive it well. Others just want to argue because they think that’s a fun activity. I’ve realized you can only share the truth – you can’t determine another person’s response to it. 

Another time wrong things are said is when people start or spread rumors/gossip/slander/etc. Amy Carmichael put it this way: “The absent one must be safe among us.” Ever since I was a little girl, I have been quick to ask people to stop saying mean/untrue things behind someone’s back around me – being a bully behind someone’s back takes a special kind of cowardice, and I want no part of any type of bullying/lying behavior. I also want my friends and family to know they can trust me, which they wouldn’t be able to do if I was spreading malicious rumors and gossip around. Even if this doesn’t always make me “cool” or “popular,” giving that up is worth the trust had in me by those most dear to my heart.

Leave a comment

