Writing Prompt #1

“What is your favorite way to spend a lazy day?”

My favorite lazy day(s) are spent with family and/or friends who are like family. The older I get, the more I really find it to be true that family time is some of the best time you can have during your lifetime – it’s where memories and inside jokes are made, laughter is abundant, food is usually consumed, photos are taken, and precious photos are shared. Sometimes family time involve some friendly competition inside (board games, strategy games, quiz games, etc.), or outside (sport-related activities, eating contests, etc.), but whatever the competition, it’s always pretty memorable!

The older you get, the less frequently you see family who live further away, but the more you appreciate the time you do have and times you had with one another. As you look back, particularly when you see photos as a tangible reminder of the past, you’ll notice the people grow, change, move, age, and even pass away.

As I personally begin my first few years of marriage, I see my immediate and extended family both as important, in different ways. I appreciate more and more the older generations in my family for whom time on this earth is growing more limited, and look for ways to see these members of my extended family more often and to at least write or call when I can’t be there very often in person, so they know how much I appreciate them being a part of my life. Family is truly one of life’s greatest blessings, so I cherish my family time.

Leave a comment

