My Vision

This morning in church, one of the songs we sang was the hymn “Be Thou My Vision,” which you’ve probably heard if you’ve been to church in the USA or the UK. Part of the lyrics of this hymn are: “Be Thou my Vision, O Lord of my heart; naught be all else to me, save that Thou art.” This is basically saying that theLord  should be the most important part of a person’s life, and love for Him should surpass love for everything else. Jesus should be the One Who we look to in our lives – our Vision.

Today, we also read several passages in church that I believe are pointing to the importance of keeping Christ as the focal point of our lives. In 1 Kings 8, King Solomon unashamedly praised the Lord in front of his entire nation: “O Lord, God of Israel, there is no God like You, in heaven above or on earth beneath, keeping covenant and showing steadfast love to Your servants who walk before You with all their heart.” 

Jesus Himself was also sent to preach the Good News of the Gospel, as we His followers are as well. His job was to teach people about the forgiveness and redemption God offer to those who follow His Son, Jesus Christ. “I must preach the good news of the kingdom of God…for I was sent for this purpose.” (Luke 4:43) 

After witnessing His miracles, His New Testament disciples became His followers, obedient to what He asked of them. “…They left everything and followed Him.” (Luke 5:11)

I am also reminded of the apostle Paul, who served the Lord wholeheartedly after his conversion on the road to Damascus from someone who thought his dedicated, religiously motivated deeds would bring him closer to God the Father, to someone who was convicted by God to realize that Jesus the Son is the only way to the Father. Paul boldly proclaimed, “For I am not ashamed of the Gospel, because it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes.” (Romans 1:16a)

My vision, our vision, for life must be to know God the Father better through His Son, Jesus Christ, and to share the story of redemption to as many people as possible, no matter what the human response. “Riches I need not, nor man’s empty praise; Thou mine inheritance, now and always…heart of mine own heart whatever (may) befall – still be my Vision, O Ruler of all.” (Another excerpt from the hymn “Be Thou My Vision.”)

  

Leave a comment

