Jesus Is Our Anchor. 

“In order to realize the worth of the anchor, we need to feel the stress of the storm.” – Corrie Ten Boom (*quote, not Scripture)

This seems to be the most recurring theme here in this little journal! I have written about Jesus our anchor here at least 3 times now, including the page before this one. It’s interesting, since I grew up in Florida, near the beaches on the east coast, and I love the nautical theme in my home decor. In fact, every time I look at the wooden anchor above my bed, I am reminded that Jesus is the anchor of my soul. I suppose that is a wonderful recurring theme! As the old hymn says, “’tis so sweet to trust in Jesus…just to rest upon His promise.” 

Anchors make me think of being in a boat, floating in calm, quiet waters, perfectly at peace. We can find true peace in this life only through the calm in our souls that God brings. “Yes, my soul, find rest in God; my hope comes from Him.” (Psalm 62:5)

He Who can calm the literal raging storm seas can calm the storms in my soul. “He got up, rebuked the wind, and said to the waves, ‘Quiet! Be still!’ Then the wind died down and it was completely calm.” (Mark 4:39)
  

Leave a comment

