A Good, Good Father & A Beloved Son

Sunday’s sermon at church caused me to reflect more on the relationship between God our Father and His Son, Jesus Christ. Here are some brief points and verses about different aspects of this relationship.
– A relationship that is eternal and creative 

“Then God said, ‘Let us make mankind in our image, in our likeness…'” (Genesis 1:26)

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. Through Him all things were made; without Him nothing was made that has been made. In Him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind.” (John 1:1-4)
– A relationship the is cohesive/cooperative

“Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in Me? The words I say to you I do not speak on My own authority. Rather, it is the Father, living in Me, Who is doing His work.” (John 14:10)
– A relationship built on trust

“All things have been committed to Me by My Father. No one knows the Som except the Father, and no one knows the Farher except the Son and those to Whom the Son chooses to reveal Him.” (Matthew 11:27)

“Jesus called out with a loud voice, ‘Father, into Your hands I commit My spirit.’ When He had said this, He breathed His last.” (Like 23:46)
– A relationship that must be recognized

“No one who denies the Son has the Father; whoever acknowledges the Son has the Father also.” (1 John 2:23)
– A relationship that exemplifies sacrificial love 

“The Word became flesh and made His dwelling among us. We have seen His glory, the glory of the one and only Son, Who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.” (John 1:14)

“…My Father! If it is possible, let this cup of suffering be taken away from Me. Yet I want Your will to be done, not Mine.” (Matthew 26:39)

“Don’t you realize that I could ask my Father for thousands of angels to protect us, and He would send them instantly? But if I did, how would the Scriptures be fulfilled that describe what must happen now?” (Matthew 26:53,54)
– A relationship that gives grace

“Grace, mercy, and peace from God the Father and from Jesus Christ, the Father’s Son, will be with us in truth and love.” (2 John 1:3)
– A relationship that brings comfort 

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort.” (2 Corinthians 1:3)

  

6 thoughts on “A Good, Good Father & A Beloved Son

    1. carolinavintagewoman Post author

      Thanks so much for your reply! I appreciate you taking the time to read this post and ask questions. 🙂 There are two relationships referenced here in the article – the main one, between God the Father and His Son, Jesus Christ – and the other, between God and man (specifically those who follow Him). I believe you’re mostly asking about the one in the title – the relationship between God the Father and God the Son. If I’m correct in assuming this, I will try to give you a short, concise answer, then can point you to additional reading if you’d like to study more. The short answer to describing the relationship is this: God is one God, but is made up of 3 different parts, or persons, as Christians usually phrase it. These are: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. We call this the Trinity. All 3 parts of God are eternal and were all present during the creation. They all have the same character (cannot lie, are just, are holy, etc.), but different roles. The quick version of the different roles is this – the Father: the One Who ultimately directs everything throughout history, the Son: the One Who was born as both fully God and fully man to a human mother and Who paid the ultimate sacrifice for sin through His death on the cross, and the Holy Spirit: the part of the Trinity Who leads us in our hearts (those of us who have become followers of Christ, aka Christians) and directs our conscience to help show us right from wrong. I hope this helps clear up your questions a bit so far. Let me know what other questions you may have.

      Like

      Reply
      1. carolinavintagewoman Post author

        This is a really interesting thought you bring up! In short, my answer would be this – there’s the obvious Father-Son relationship (which was the main focus of this particular post), and then the Father-Holy Spirit relationship, which I would perhaps think of in human terms as a teacher and assistant teacher relationship (Holy Spirit helps humans in understanding the Father’s Word given in the Bible).

        Overall, so far as the Trinity goes, the best simple human comparison (which isn’t exact, but is the best way I could give an analogy) would be say, an ordinary person such as myself. I’m not yet a parent, but for the example, I can be. I am a teacher, a wife, and a parent (for this example). The fact that I am a teacher does not make me in any way less a wife or a mother – these are all different aspects of who I am and what I do. I can be all three at once, and even act as all three at the same time. For example, I could have my child in my classroom as I am teaching and be both their teacher and parent at the same moment, and I would also still be a wife, obviously. This really simplifies the concept, but I think that often as humans it’s important to have an understanding of what we believe and not just know that we believe it. We can’t understand God fully in His entirety, because we are not God, but we can certainly learn and grow in our understanding as much as possible. I hope that helped to answer your question a bit better.

        P.S. A super simplistic explanation I’ve heard about the Trinity is to take 3 different cups of water and pour them into a bowl. They are both 1 bowl of water and 3 cups of water at the same time. You asked, however, for a human relationship comparison, so that’s what I attempted.

        Like

      2. hessianwithteeth

        I see. Can you tell me the purpose of these relationships? For example, the purpose of teachers is to ensure an educated society. We can learn to talk without being directly taught, but we can’t learn to read or write without someone teaching us. If we want a literate society, we need teachers. Likewise, we need parents to raise children to further society. Without children, society dies, and, without parents, children die (or just never exist). And spousal relationships offer more support than casual relationships where the mother raises the children on her own. Again, it’s better for society.

        Like

Leave a comment

