Memories Of You, Part 1

They come upon me rather suddenly, sneaking up on me when I least expect them, these happy, yet sad memories of you. They sneak to the corners of my mouth, turning it up into a smile, yet they sneak into my eyes and roll down my cheeks. They often send a warm feeling and yet a pang of longing into my heart, these many memories of you.

You were always there for me, from the time I was born, all the way through my youth – countless times as I reached different milestones, and even more times just because you cared. When over 1,000 miles lay between us, you would faithfully call on the telephone, and send cards and letters my way. You always took the opportunity to visit when you could, and gave from a heart of generosity on my birthday, on holidays, and even “just because.” 

Your tender heart hurt when I was hurting and laughed when I was laughing. Your arms were always open for a hug. You always looked for ways to show kindness and love, and your daily prayers and quiet strength demonstrated your beautiful faith. And speaking of beauty, your gentle, soft face always made me smile, yet you focused much more on your eternally lasting beauty – the beauty within your heart.

  

Leave a comment

