Jesus Is Our Deliverer.

“The deliverer will come from Zion…And this is My covenant with them when I take away their sins.” – Romans 11:26

Jesus is both the deliverer of us collectively who trust in Him, and our personal deliverer from fear, from shame, from the evil one, and from those who wish to harm us. “He is my loving God and my fortress, my stronghold and my deliverer, my shield, in Whom I take refuge, Who subdued peoples under me.” (Psalm 144:2) “He said: ‘The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my deliverer…’ ” (2 Samuel 22:2) “…Jesus, Who rescues us from the coming wrath.” (1 Thessalonians 1:10b) “Sovereign Lord, my strong deliverer, You  shield my head in the day of battle.” (Psalm 140:7)

Since He is always present everywhere, we can always call to the Lord in our time of need, to deliver us. “But as for me, I am poor and needy; come quickly to me, O God. You are my help and my deliverer; Lord, do not delay.” (Psalm 70:5) Here, the psalmist shows us that we should show humility and realize we can’t go through life’s difficulties on our own strength alone. We must recognise there is Somone far greater than ourselves, Whose help is needed by us, each and every day. “I sought the Lord, and He answered me; He delivered me from all my fears.” (Psalm 34:4)

Leave a comment

