Jesus Is The One Who Would Come Later.

“Paul said, ‘John’s baptism was a baptism of repentance. He told the people to believe in the One coming after him, that is, in Jesus.’ ” – Acts 19:4

John the Baptist, Jesus’ cousin, preached a message of repentance and baptism, yet he told his followers that his ministry was in preparation for the ministry of Jesus. “He is the One Who comes after me, the straps of Whose sandals I am not worthy to untie.” (John 1:27) “I baptize you with water for repentance. But after me comes One Who is more powerful than I, whose sandals I am not worthy to carry. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire.” (Matthew 3:11)

When he introduced the people to Jesus, John made it clear that this was the Man he’d been preaching about, Who would follow his ministry. “This is the One I meant when I said, ‘A Man Who comes after me has surpassed me because He was before me.’ ” (John 1:30) Jesus is the fulfillment of both Old Testament and New Testament prophecy – He is the One Who came and the One Who is coming again. “I looked, and there before me was a white horse! Its rider held a bow, and He was given a crown, and He rode out as a conqueror bent on conquest.” (Revelation 6:2)

Leave a comment

