Watercolors

IMG_5102

As a child, I was very creative and excelled at coloring within the lines, but I was not at all good at watercolors. Too much water flooding the paper and blurring all of the colors together didn’t lend itself to a very pretty piece of art! Because of this experience, I have always seen myself as bad at watercolors and even painting in general. I’m a very artsy person, but have never identified as being a painter.

A very good friend of mine, who is extremely talented in all things art-related, has recently encouraged me to try watercolors again. I’ve always thought that the watercolor effect was pretty, but never thought I would be any good at it. I realized lately that just because I wasn’t amazing at something when I was in preschool or early elementary does not mean I can’t be good at it now as an adult!

I’ve decided to try my hand at some basic freehand watercolor work, to stretch myself and see what I can do. I may not be the Michelangelo of the watercolor world, but I’m determined to at least create some decent, fun projects and expand my artistic skill set.

Leave a comment

