The Belle of the Ball

Yesterday marked another annual milestone for me – my birthday. My life is my story, and I am the lead character therein. It’s not often, though, that I take time for myself, just to enjoy the day and not worry so much about whether everyone else is taken care of (although I still do this by habit, even on my birthday!). If a woman’s life is a ballroom, each woman is the belle of the ball in her own world.

I enjoyed a delightful lunch at one of my favorite restaurants with family, and a few friends who are like family. Further celebrations will ensue at a later date, since not everyone was available on my exact birthday to get together. In the evening, however, I had the opportunity to go to supper with just my husband. While I decided what to wear, I realized that, since it was my birthday, I could wear whatever I wanted (within reason, of course!), so I promptly changed into a favorite semi-formal dress I hadn’t yet had occasion to wear. I decided that I felt like Cinderella, so why not wear my own “Cinderella dress”? My husband was such a sweet gentleman to me, and even played my impromptu photoshoot iPhone photographer (he actually has quite the good eye for it!).

While humility is of course a necessary and important virtue, I think it’s fun to have a day or two here and there where we feel special and loved and feel free to be as formal or informal as we’d like without worrying how strangers at the restaurant may view us! I had the opportunity to feel like I was in a fairytale for a brief moment, and greatly enjoyed it. In order to be a blessing to others, let’s look to see how we can make THEM feel special on an occasion that’s important in their life, since we know how much fun it can be when someone takes a little extra time or shows a little extra love to us!

Leave a comment

